Skip to Main Content

Chippewa Valley Technical College

Leadership Team

Our leadership team is comprised of dedicated and experienced individuals who have worked tirelessly to ensure the College's continued success and fulfill our mission. They are committed to providing the highest quality education to our students and serving the needs of the community.

Together, they guide the initiatives that drive CVTC forward.

Dr Sunem Beaton-Garcia

Dr. Sunem Beaton-Garcia, Ed.D., is the eleventh President of Chippewa Valley Technical College, becoming the first woman and first Latina to lead the College as of July 2021.

A Message from the President

Welcome to Chippewa Valley Technical College, where our students’ dreams are our mission. For our learners, choosing CVTC is just the beginning, and we are relentless in our efforts to support their success.

Faculty and staff throughout the 11 counties we serve in western Wisconsin work with honesty, integrity, and fairness to provide quality education to a diverse community of learners.

Our goal is to meet students where they are, listen to their dreams, and give them the skills necessary to succeed on their educational journey.

At CVTC, we’re driven to provide vital, affordable education when training the talent pipeline has never been more urgent. We’re here for our students. We meet them where they are. Our graduates make up a strong workforce that impacts and improves the quality of life here in the Chippewa Valley.

When they succeed, our communities succeed.

That's why, at Chippewa Valley Technical College, our students’ dreams are our mission.

  – Sunem Beaton-Garcia


A History of Leadership Excellence

Chippewa Valley Technical College has enjoyed the courageous leadership of visionary presidents since its inception in 1912. Each leader has embodied CVTC’s mission and vision and shaped the College in their unique ways. Their challenges were different, but their goals were the same: to create a learning environment to prepare students for success.

  • Director William Dixon, 1914-1916
  • Director Milton Towner, 1916-1917
  • Director Charles Beardsley, 1917-1927
  • Director Harley Brook, 1927-1940
  • Director Sam Davey, 1940-1944
  • Director William Enge, 1944-1963
  • Director Cecil Beede, 1963-1974
  • Director Norbert Wurtzel, 1974-1994
  • President Dr. Bill Ihlenfeldt, 1994-2008
  • President Bruce Barker, 2008-2021
  • President Dr. Sunem Beaton-Garcia, 2021-present

Meet Our Leadership Team

CVTC is led by President Sunem Beaton-Garcia. The president works in partnership with the District Board of Trustees, who represent district-wide community interests.

Dr Sunem Beaton-Garcia

Dr. Sunem Beaton-Garcia

President, Chippewa Valley Technical College

Dr. Beaton-Garcia has more than 25 years of instructional experience in education, 12 of those in higher education. Her career includes notable accomplishments for a culture of collaboration and teaching excellence, transformational academic programs and innovation in student support, community engagement, and resource generation and stewardship.

Dr. Beaton-Garcia is a passionate advocate for the community and the College, exemplified through her service on various local, state, and national boards.

Under her leadership, CVTC has been recognized as a military-friendly college and one of the top 150 2-Year colleges in the nation by the prestigious Aspen Institute.

President's Cabinet

The purpose of the President's Cabinet is to provide oversight and direction for College-wide policy and procedures. This includes responsibility for developing, implementing, and communicating the strategic plan, producing the annual operating and capital budgets, and providing oversight and direction to college committees. CVTC partnerships and community relations are coordinated through this group.

Tam Burgau

Tam Burgau

Vice President of Talent & Culture

Caleb Cornelius

Caleb Cornelius

Vice President of Administration & Chief Strategy Officer

Joni Geroux

Joni Geroux

Vice President of Strategic Communications & Community Engagement

Karen Kohler

Karen Kohler

Vice President of Institutional Advancement

Lynette Livingston

Dr. Lynette Livingston

Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs

Lauren Sullivan

Lauren Sullivan

Executive Assistant to College President & Board

Contact Us

Media Inquiries

Communications Inquiries

Other Inquiries

Submit Your Question

Indicates required field

We will never share or sell your information outside of CVTC. We may, on occasion, contact you regarding relevant services, events, and materials. You may opt out at any time. View our privacy policy to understand how we collect and use your information.

Join Us To

Experience CVTC for Yourself

Explore CampusAttend an EventSchedule a Visit
I'm a(n)